European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC)

EU _ _ _ States members map

Cross-border cooperation received in 2006 an important support of the european union through the establishment of the legal concept of european groupings of Territorial cooperation (EGTC). Is regulated by theRegulation (EC) no. 1082/2006, of the european parliament and of the council of 5 july.

This Regulation has been modified by theRegulation (EU) no. 1302/2013 of the european parliament and of the council of 17 december, amending the above with regard to the clarification, the simplification and improvement in the establishment and functioning of such groupings.

The EGTC transcend mere cross-border cooperation, as they include transnational and interregional cooperation. After the new european regulation opens in addition the possibility of cooperation with third States not members of the union.

The EGTC legal personality, are governed directly by the above-mentioned regulations and supplementary regulations of member states. The members of these groups can be both regional and local authorities, such as Public Law and the member states themselves, being this last point the new regulation. Members must proceed at least two european Union.

The constitution and regulation of the EGTC is reflected in a territorial cooperation, and the statutes of the dowry each grouping in all matters relating to your organization and operation. The main objective of the EGTC is the strengthening of economic, social and territorial cohesion in the geographical scope of the same.

Each cluster manages its own budget, has economic means and personnel and has its own capacity to contract, all this within the competence of each member of the group by the national legislation.

With this figure, the european union goes beyond the classic concept of cross-border cooperation, understood only border between neighbours and to open the new path of “ territorial cooperation ”, in the individual states or regions, including border not each other, can reach agreements that addresses the interests of common economic or cultural.

In Spain,Royal Decree 23/2015 of 23 januarydevelops the provisions of the european regulation, following the amendments introduced by 2013 reform.



  • Galicia-Norte of Portugal
  • Duero-Douro
  • Pirineos-mediterráneo
  • Pirineos-Cerdanya
  • Mediterranean archipelago (ARCHIMED)
  • Cerdanya Hospital
  • Eurocidade Chaves-verín
  • Aquitania-Euskadi-Navarra euroregion
  • Gaza Iberian Pirítica
  • Cities of pottery (AEuCC)
  • European Network of Urban Knowledge (EUKN EGTC)
  • Cross-Border country of art and history. The valleys of Tec catalans and Ter
  • León-bragança
  • European Mycological Institute (EMI)
  • Interpal-Medio Tejo
  • Del Guadiana eurocity
  • The River Minho
  • Pirineos-pyrénées



Map of the EGTC